Skip to Content

Mathematician Roger Penrose wins Nobel Prize in Physics

Roger Penrose, Andrea Ghez and Reinhard Genzel (left to right).

Oxford mathematician Roger Penrose wins the Nobel Prize in Physics for his joint work on black holes with Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez. Roger Penrose showed that the general theory of relativity leads to the formation of black holes. Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez discovered that an invisible and extremely heavy object governs the orbits of stars at the centre of our galaxy. A supermassive black hole is the only currently known explanation.

Roger Penrose is the first mathematician to win the Nobel Prize in 70 years. The previous winners are:

1950: Bertrand Russell; won the prize for philosophical and political writing (literature)

1954: Max Born, also famous as a physicist,  (physics)

1972: Kenneth Arrow (economics)

1994: John Forbes Nash (economics)

2003: Clive W. J. Granger; a statistician/econometrician, (economics)

2005: Robert J. Autmann (economics)


The full article as well as an interview with Penrose can be found at