Skip to Content

2018 3MT® Competition

The mathematics department was well represented at the 2018 3MT® competition.  Thank you to Zhaochen Song, Brittany Webre, Enes Akbuga, Megan Fairchild, Teresa Lynn Salazar, Henry Ickes, and Xiaowen Cui for sharing your research and participating in this highly competitive event.  

Congratulations to our Finalists from the Preliminary Round:

Megan Fairchild won the People’s Choice Award for her presentation “Using Knot Theory to Model DNA Recombination” 

Teresa Lynn Salazar won 1st Place Doctoral Award for her presentation “Future Teacher’s Climbs in Mathematical Task Interviewer Interactions” 

The competition is not over yet, the 3MT® University Final will be held on Tuesday, April 3rd at 1:00pm in the Performing Arts Recital Hall.  Please join us on April 3rd as we cheer on our graduate students Megan Fairchild and Teresa Lynn Salazar towards a 1st place award.  Your vote counts!  Audience participation can help one of our mathematics students win a People’s Choice Award of $500.